Kicking off the Christmas Season

Well it has been a long time – way too long that is – since I last posted to my blog.  But I guess that’s what happens when school and internships and everything else get in the way of having time to blog. But I am determined to get back on track and post regularly. So welcome back, cherished readers!

December is one of my favorite times of the year.  I love Christmas and enjoy all of the wonderful feelings that surround it.  So when an advertisement has the presence of mind to evoke all of the wonder, excitement and magic that we feel during the holidays, it gets top marks with me.

The ad that I’m talking about is the 2012 John Lewis Christmas ad. John Lewis is a retailer in Britain that is quite famous for their heartwarming holiday commercials. Check it out below:

I think that this ad does a fantastic job of using the feeling of the season to power the delightful journey of our friend the snowman.  Sure, in the end the ad wants you to go out and buy some expensive things for someone you love, but it is still a well done message of going the extra mile to show a gesture of love to someone.  John Lewis has had better commercials in the past – I am a huge fan of the 2011 ad – but this one still ranks up there with the best I have seen.

As AdWeek said in their coverage of the ad,

“The holiday season in Britain doesn’t really start until department-store retailer John Lewis releases its Christmas ad.”

Well this year they have started it off very well.

I’ll be posting more about the holiday ads out there soon so look for my coming posts!

And give me YOUR opinion of the John Lewis Christmas ads in the comments below

Leave a comment